Basque Parsley Potatoes

I found this recipe completely by accident one morning when searching for some tasty taters to go along with a basic chicken dish. It was perfect, because I had some fresh parsley from dinner the night before and this recipe would help me put it to good use. Don’t you hate how a recipe will call for a fresh herb, but you always have so much left over? I feel like it always goes bad on me before i get the chance to use it again. I am going to have to start growing my own.

After I found the recipe, I started to do a little research about its creator, Denise of Chez Us. I was so excited to hear Denise and her husband are living in San Francisco cooking in a 20 sq. ft. kitchen. Wait, that doesn’t sound right… I am excited about the San Francisco part ,because I am from the Bay Area, and I am amazed by the 20 sq. ft kitchen, because well isn’t it obvious? Don’t let the square footage fool you. Denise is a self-proclaimed foodie, who may “live small, but eats big”. Be sure to check out Chez Us and definitely try this recipe. You know how my Hubby loves potatoes and these were no different. They are definitely a crowd pleaser.

Ingredients

  • 3 russet potatoes, peeled, washed and cut into cubes
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small head of garlic (about 16 cloves), sliced paper-thin
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 tablespoon salt (more or less to taste)
  • handful parsley, washed, dried and minced

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large dutch oven. Add half of the garlic, and stir over low-heat, cook until lightly golden. Do not let the garlic get crispy or dark brown, the taste will be bitter. Add the potatoes, the rest of the garlic and stir just enough to coat the potatoes. Add the water and salt. Bring to a boil. Lower heat to a low simmer and cook until the potatoes are soft but still a bit firm; about 20 minutes. It will depend on how large the cubes are. Turn off heat. Season a bit more, if you like a little more salt. Serve. Eat.

Notes: Denise likes to turn off the heat and let the dish sit for about 30 minutes, in the cooking pot, before actually serving. Then gently reheat. When I make these, sometimes I leave the skin on, because I am a fan and the skin has a lot of nutrients. Plus I am lazy, and it is easier that way.

Got Comments?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

