Bruschetta is Betta for One

I tend to not cook meals for myself. I just don’t see the point in it. It takes time and effort and makes a big ol’ mess just for little ol’ me. Totally not worth it in my opinion. I just assume make some Top Ramen or have a bowl of cereal instead. However, now that I am married I am trying to become a domestic goddess who can just whip something up at the drop of a hat no problem, even if it is just for me. I am pretty sure a domestic goddess would not be caught dead eating Top Ramen. So, today I thought I would be a big girl and cook myself a little lunch. I made myself a personal sized amount of delowcious bruschetta. I have to say, it was pretty tasty and pretty worth it too. Don’t worry I had more than 2 pieces. I used these 2 for the picture. I have another plate outside the frame with like 8 more pieces on it. Come on, I said personal size, not anorexic size. This was my domestic goddess process inspired by The Pioneer Woman, but downsized for a personal sized serving…

Ingredients

  • 1 container of Nature Sweet Cherubs Tomatoes (about a pint), halved lengthwise
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • ½ tablespoon of balsamic vinegar
  • 16 basil leaves, chiffonade
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ½ a baguette
  • 4 tablespoons of butter

Directions

In a small skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic and stir, lightly frying for about a minute, removing before the garlic gets too brown (it can be golden.) Pour into a mixing bowl and allow to cool slightly.

Add tomatoes, balsamic, basil, and salt and pepper to the bowl. Toss to combine, then taste and add more basil if needed, and more salt if needed. (Be sure not to over salt.) Cover and refrigerate for an hour to allow flavors to marry. Don’t have the time? No worries. The flavors are delowcious just the way they are.

Cut the baguette into diagonal slices to allow for the most surface area possible. Melt half the butter in a large skillet and grill half the bread on both sides, making sure they’re nice and buttery. Cook till golden brown on both sides. Repeat with the other half of the butter and the other half of the bread.

To serve, give the tomato mixture a final stir, the spoon generously over the slices of bread. Serve on a big platter as a first course, appetizer or a nice little meal for yourself ;)

Notes: Want to make your bruschetta even betta? Add Nature’s Best Sunburts to the mix for a fun pop of yellow. Basically just use a mixture of the red, orange and yellow tomatoes. It will look gorgeous!!!

Got Comments?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

