Atomic Buffalo Turds

Fiesta Bridal Shower ~ via The EGGLast month I went to one of my best friend’s engagement party in California. I was asked to bring an appetizer, but not just any appetizer. They requested the little smokies wrapped in bacon. I am not much of a meat lover so these sounded totally boring to me. I am, however, a heat lover, so when I saw the recipe for bacon wrapped little smokies laying on a bed of spicy cream cheese stuffed inside of a jalapeno, I thought those were much more up my alley. Plus it was a fiesta themed engagement party, since they will be getting married in Mexico next year, so I thought the jalapeno version tied in a little better with the whole vibe of the event. They ended up being very easy to make and everyone, except my grandmother, seemed to like them as well. The only drawback of this recipe is the name. Atomic Buffalo Turds. I was slightly embarrassed/sort of excited when I had to tell people what they were called. Some people laughed and others looked at me like I was crazy and very unladylike, which for the most part they were spot on. I am definitely not the most prim and proper of gals, but saying the word turd to my best friend’s future mother-in-law is something I don’t ever want to do again. I still can’t decide if the name is based on what they look like or because of what they do to you if you eat one. Either way I think these poor little guys could use a revisit to the naming factory.

Ingredients

  • 12 fresh Jalapenos (You can use bell pepper for heat haters)
  • 12 slices of bacon
  • 24 little smokies
  • 1 package of room temperature cream cheese
  • 1 cup of grated cheese (I used 4 cheese blend)
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 2 shallots minced (I did not have shallots so I used regular onion to taste)

Directions

Atomic Buffalo Turds ~ via The EGGStep 1. Cut jalapenos in half length wise and take out the seeds and membranes. If you do not mind spicy leave some of the membranes in, but remember that your cream cheese filling will have cayenne pepper in it which will  add a kick as well so be careful.

Step 2. Mix together the cream cheese, shredded cheese, minced shallots, and cayenne pepper. Be sure to mix evenly.

Atomic Buffalo Turds ~ via The EGGStep 3. Spoon mixture into the jalapeno.

Atomic Buffalo Turds ~ via The EGGStep 4. Place a little smokey on each jalapeno bed.

Step 5. Cut bacon slices in half and wrap the jalapeno and smokey in bacon half. (Somehow I missed photographing this step, but you get the idea.) you may want to use a toothpick if you are having a hard time keeping the bacon around the jalapeno, but I did not. My bacon stuck pretty well on its own.

Step 6. Bake ABTs for about an hour at a low temperature until bacon is nice and brown. I think I cooked mine at 250 degrees, but others say you can cook them at 425 degrees for 20-30 minutes if you need them done quicker. I wanted my jalapeno to be very tender so I opted for low and slow, but next time I am going to try the higher temperature.

Step 7. Let sit for 5 or 10 minutes. Then stick them with toothpicks and serve.

Atomic Buffalo Turds ~ via The EGGI did not get a great picture of them when it was all said and done, because I was a little preoccupied with the party and the PHOTOBOOTH (see photos below).  All in all, I think they were a hit and so was the party, but next time I think I will jazz up the ABT’s cream cheese filling a little more. Maybe add some garlic powder, cumin, chili powder, or maybe some other herbs and minced veggies. I don’t think you can go wrong with this one.

Congrats Angela and Brock!

photo 4 (6)photo 4 (7)photo 5

Got Comments?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

