Italian Club Sandwich

Sandwich done.jpgI have been dying to do a post about this Italian Club Sandwich I stumbled upon on Crepes of Wrath about, oh I don’t know, 2 years ago… Talk about procrastination. Really I was just waiting for the perfect opportunity to try this recipe out, and I finally found it. Last weekend I threw a Bridal Shower for one of my very best friends and in true non reality living Elizabeth form I decided I wanted to make all the food myself. Normally not a ridiculous order, unless you are planning a 32 person sit down meal kind of shower… My grandmother thought I was crazy, but entertained my lofty plans with little push back. The food portion actually worked out well and I would definitely recommend using this tasty little number for your next event. It tastes delicious, looks pretty, and you can make it the night before. However, next time I may cater or at least hire somebody to serve so I can enjoy the party a little more… Who am I kidding I am way too controlling to ever be able to sit down and enjoy anything.

Ingredients

  • Large Loaf of Ciabatta Bread (sliced lengthwise)
  • Fresh Pesto
  • Sliced Sopressata Salami
  • Sliced Prosciutto
  • Sliced Provolone Cheese
  • Sliced Mozzarella Cheese
  • Basil Leaves
  • Plastic Wrap

 Directions

photo 1 (6)Slice the ciabatta bread lengthwise. Spread fresh pesto over the bottom piece of bread. Ciabatta is pretty hearty so no need to skimp, but be sure not to use so much that the bread becomes soggy.

Sandwich Steps Final.jpg

Sandwich Steps Final 2.jpgTop the pesto with a layer of salami, layer of prosciutto, then a layer of provolone and a layer of mozzarella cheese. Top the cheeses with another layer of salami followed by a healthy amount of fresh basil leaves.

photo 5 (1)Add a layer of pesto on the top half of the bread. Why? Because I love pesto, so more = better. Plus the additional pesto helps the sandwich all stick together in the pressing process.

photo 3 (2)Place the top of the bread on the sandwich and press down on the sandwiches with your hands, then very tightly wrap them in plastic wrap.

photo 1 (2)Put the wrapped sandwich in the fridge and top with lots of heavy books, or whatever other heavy objects you can find. I used 1 very heavy book, then put a couple 2 liter bottles of soda on top of that. Don’t be afraid to over do it on the weight factor. If I had more room I would have done more. Let them sit in the fridge overnight. This gives the sandwich plenty of time to press into perfect little packages and all the flavors have a chance to marry together. If you are pressed for time and don’t have time to press (haha get it?) then add more weight and you sandwich should be good to go in about 4 hours.

sandwich bite.jpgWhen you are ready to eat, unwrap the sandwiches and use a very sharp knife to cut the sandwich into about 2-inch wide pieces. These will keep well after being sliced in an airtight container for up to 2 days – we ate them as leftovers after our party and they were still absolutely delicious.

EGG Signature

Comments

  1. This looks delicious. I will have to try it!

Got Comments?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

