Tilapia Taco Tuesday

While I was cooking Turkey Taco Tuesday, I started thinking how this could become a Tuesday (or Thursday for that matter) ‘T’ alliteration staple in our house. Then I thought well, we might get a little tired of Turkey Tacos… So I decided I could use Tilapia interchangeably both for sake of the flavor, and the necessary ‘T’ alliteration. So to the world-wide-web I went in search of totally tubular Tilapia Tacos. Wow, the alliteration is getting out of control. Here is what I found…

Ingredients

  • 1 lime
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, chopped
  • ½ cup cilantro, chopped
  • ½ jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped
  • ½ sweet onion, finely chopped
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 cups green or red cabbage, sliced into narrow strips
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pound tilapia fillets
  • ¼ teaspoon chili powder
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • 8 small whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 avocado, cut into 8 long slices

Directions

  1. Cut lime in half. Squeeze juice from half and slice other half into 4 thin wedges. In a bowl, combine tomatoes, cilantro, jalapeno, onion, ¼ teaspoon salt, and half the lime juice.
  2. In another bowl, mix together yogurt, mayonnaise, and remaining lime juice. Combine cabbage and 2 tablespoons of yogurt sauce in another bowl; reserve extra sauce.
  3. Heat olive oil in a large pan. Sprinkle tilapia with chili powder, black pepper, and remaining ¼ teaspoon salt; cook 3 minutes. Turn; cook 2 minutes more.
  4. Place 2 tortillas, 1 lime wedge, and ¼ of the tilapia on each plate. Serve with salsa, cabbage, avocado, and sauce.

Notes: I am not sure how I feel about this yogurt sauce… I can’t speak from experience, but I feel like it is lacking a little something. I think I will opt for the Wahoo’s Green Sauce recipe.

Comments

  1. beautiful fish tacos! Looks delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. […] it’s the day after Tilapia Taco Tuesday and I have tons of left over red cabbage that I do not know what to do with. Ok, some of it I will […]

  2. […] am so fricken proud of myself right now. Not only did Tilapia Taco Tuesday actually happen on an actual Tuesday, but it was delicious. Pardon me, delowcious! I am not going […]

Got Comments?